The Richmond Arts and Culture Commission is proud to present the selected prize winning Richmond Writes! poets:

Elementary Schools

1st Prize: Anthony Alvarez, Washington Elementary

1st Prize: Ariella Benavides, Caliber Beta Academy

1st Prize: Clarissa Castro, Washington Elementary

1st Prize: Silvia Coca Cruz, Washington Elementary


2nd Prize: Amelie Banuelos, Washington Elementary

2nd Prize: Hannah Benavides, Washington Elementary

2nd Prize: Sania Kaleko, Wilson Elementary

2nd Prize: Citlali Mendo, Washington Elementary

2nd Prize: Gloria Zearett, Washington Elementary


3rd Prize: Angel Abreau, Bayview Elementary

3rd Prize: Leah Ambernathy Saphon, Caliber Beta Academy

3rd Prize: Giselle Barragan, Washington Elementary

3rd Prize: Reiley Dillon, Washington Elementary

3rd Prize: Amitra Kellogg, Washington Elementary


Honorable Mention: Elementary School 

Alicia Acosta, Washington Elementary; Carlos Acosta, Washington Elementary; Mara Bravo, Coronado Elementary; Aaliyah Castillo, Washington Elementary; Rogelio Contreras, Washington Elementary; Selenah Corona DesSilva, Wilson Elementary; Gloria Diaz, Washington Elementary; Asia Jacobson, Coronado Elementary; Melvin Lopez, Jr., Coronado Elementary; Antonia Mason, Bayview Elementary; Parker Mina, Washington Elementary; Jacqueline Plascencia, Coronado Elementary; Maryanna Preciado, Coronado Elementary; Daniel Robinson, Washington Elementary; Savannah Qualls, Washington Elementary; Daniel Robinson, Washington Elementary; Kylie Alyssa Velazquez, Washington Elementary; Jimena Villarreal, Washington Elementary; and Tyrah Weems, Washington Elementary.


Middle Schools

1st Prize: Teressa T. Bigbee, DeJean Middle School

2nd Prize: Jade Synott Brandow, Fred Korematsu Middle School

3rd Prize: Santiago Sixto, DeJean Middle School


Honorable Mention: Middle School

Juan Zamara, DeJean Middle School


High Schools

1st Prize: Gabrielle Green, De Anza High School

2nd Prize: Yaritza Gomez, De Anza High School

3rd Prize: Angel Wiley, DeAnza High School


Honorable Mention: High School 

Eugene O. Gaines, III, Kennedy High School

Jasmine Gill, DeAnza High School

Chandandeep Kaur, De Anza High School

Yajaira Sandoval, Kennedy High School

Austin Williams, Kennedy High School



1st Prize: Teo Scura, LEAP


The Richmond Writes! Poetry Contest helps students learn how to write poetry as a way of expressing how they see the world. Each year their poems touch the hearts of the art commissioners, judges, teachers, parents, city staff, and all who read them. The public is welcome, and the poetry chapbooks will be available on a first-come first-served basis once the students have received their copies.

The Award Ceremony will be held at 440 Civic Center Plaza, Richmond in City Council Chambers on Friday, April 17th at 6:00 pm. All participants of the poetry contest will receive certificates of recognition from Mayor Tom Butt, and a copy of the chapbook containing all of this year’s poetry entries.

For more information, please e-mail the RACC at